Eleven of Western Australia’s exceptional researchers, academics and professionals have today been announced as the recipients of Business Events Perth’s 2022 Aspire Awards.

For the past two decades Business Events Perth has been recognising Western Australia’s brightest minds through our Aspire Awards program.

The successful Aspire Awards applicants who are outstanding candidates in their fields, receive travel grants to support their attendance at international conferences, allowing the recipients to showcase their expertise on a global stage, network with like-minded professionals, and explore new avenues for collaboration, research, innovation and trade.

Among the 2022 recipients was the University of Western Australia’s Dr Ben McAllister, who’s work in the fields of quantum technologies and dark matter are helping solve one of the universe’s biggest mysteries; Perron Institute for Neurological and Translational Science Dr. Marzena Pedrini, who’s research focuses on understanding the pathogenesis of MS and the role of genetics, immune regulation, and environmental factors in disease susceptibility and, Murdoch University’s Dr Bob Du who’s research is contributing to the improved production capacity and profitability of Australia's grain industry and the effective management of biosecurity risk and insecticide resistance to the food supply chain.

The Awards have once again demonstrated Western Australia’s excellence and positioning at the forefront of global innovation across a wide range of disciplines.

Business Events Perth CEO, Gareth Martin said Business Events Perth is proud to recognise some of Western Australia’s brightest minds and provide them opportunities to showcase the State to the international community, through this program.  

“The recipients of the 2022 Aspire Awards represent the diversity of Western Australia’s research and entrepreneurial strengths and exemplify the innovation that Western Australia is renowned for globally.

“The advantages of attending in-person conferences are invaluable and we are honoured to provide the opportunity to share these benefits with some of Western Australia’s brightest individuals. Meeting face-to-face facilitates positive collaboration and networking opportunities.

“We’re extremely honoured to be supporting our 2022 Aspire recipients to attend international conferences, where they will meet with other leaders in their fields and create opportunities to bring those conferences to Western Australia in the future.”

2022 Aspire Award winners

AMA WA Aspire Award winner: Dr. Bradley MacDonald
Curtin University Aspire Award winner: Associate Professor Hussein Znad
Defence West Aspire Award winner: Roy Mitchell
Edith Cowan University Aspire Award winner: Professor Paul Haskell-Dowland
Harry Perkins Institute Aspire Award winner: Dr. Qi Fang
Murdoch University Aspire Award winner: Dr. Bob Du
Perron Institute Aspire Award winner: Dr. Marzena Pedrini
Telethon Kids Institute Aspire Award winner: Dr. Matthew ‘Tepi’ Mclaughlin
The University of Notre Dame Australia Aspire Award winner: Jessica Nolan
The University of Western Australia Aspire Award winner: Dr. Ben McAllister
THIS IS FREMANTLE Aspire Award winner: Rebecca Prince-Ruiz

Meet the winners here - www.businesseventsperth.com/aspire-program

Media contact: Mitchel McCuish | Director Marketing | E: mmccuish@beperth.com